QUESTION: What is Your “Brand”?

Brand Personality

The dog park is such a great place to meet interesting characters. Today I met a digital marketing guru (no joke, I checked). We watched my minpin try to maul her 12 year-old standard poodle, and got to talking shop. She advised me to think of my personal online presence as my “brand”.

Advice I’ve encountered before, but today it sunk in a little deeper. It got me wondering: exactly what is my brand? What do I want it to be?

The Human Element of Brands

Marketing-speak puts so much emphasis on voice and tone, personality and style as brand attributes. Companies devote considerable time and money on making themselves “sound” a certain way. Web start-ups tend to act act friendly, quirky and “innovative”.

A perfect example is the new TV ad for Google+. It’s a multi-media love letter composed by a forlorn guy to his long-lost love, as a grand gesture to win her back. It adds a humble and very relatable human element to the social network, showing slices of a life we can all picture ourselves in.

Here’s what I envision as my own personal “brand” qualities:

  • Sharp.  I notice things. Connections between things. I love finding commonality in hard-to-reach places.
  • Witty.  In 6th grade two boys made fun of me for “laughing too much”. They both have boring jobs now.
  • Compassionate. Understanding the point of view of others is a great skill to have, both as a human and a writer.
  • Professional. I love shopping at Staples.

From this I hatched an idea for what to name my business if and when I start a business: “The Content Chameleon”. I’m the chameleon, and I create content for any niche/purpose. Executing powerful messages by tapping into those 4 traits.

And it all started at the dog park. Where dreams are made and digital marketing strategies are hatched.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

